200+ Sites, Apps & Books For Designer

by Janeth Kent Date: 10-09-2020 design books resources


Design is fundamental to any digital strategy. We are in a digital era where visual stimuli make the difference when the user makes a decision. It is necessary that when faced with a good idea there are creative elements that differentiate us from the competition and attract our audience in order to achieve the objectives set. And for that it is necessary that you have the best design tools.

It is important that your brand has its own design that identifies it and that everything that is published has a characteristic visual form so that the brand can be recognized at first sight. This will be achieved with the design of a logo, with the corporate colors and taking care of the design of the contents that are published in the name of the brand.

Next we will show you a compilation of design tools that will help you in your digital marketing strategy whether you have knowledge in this discipline or not.

Dan Edwards has written this awesome guide for any designer looking for resources for their web projects.

Thank you Dan!

Photography

Free

Unsplash — www.unsplash.com

Picjumbo — www.picjumbo.com

Gratisography — www.gratisography.com

Superfamous — www.superfamous.com

Little Visuals — www.littlevisuals.co

Split Shire — www.splitshire.com

Pixabay — www.pixabay.com

New Old Stock — www.nos.twnsnd.co

Paul Jarvis Free Photos — http://pjrvs.com/a/photos

Zoomy Images — http://zoomyimages.com/

Paid

Dollar Photo Club — http://www.dollarphotoclub.com

Compfight — www.compfight.com

Stocksy — www.stocksy.com

Placeit Product Shots — www.placeit.net

iStockphoto — http://istockphoto.com

offset — http://www.offset.com

Corbis — http://www.corbisimages.com

Facebox — http://facebox.io

Typography

Okay Type — www.okaytype.com

Typekit — www.typekit.com

My Fonts — www.myfonts.com

Fonts — www.fonts.com

Font Squirrel — www.fontsquirrel.com

Da Font — www.dafont.com

Google Fonts — www.google.com/fonts

1001 Free Fonts — www.1001freefonts.com

Lost Type Co-op — www.losttype.com

Ico Moon — www.icomoon.io

Font-To-Width — http://font-to-width.com/

Mockup Tools

InVision — www.invisionapp.com

Mockupr — www.mockupr.com

Flinto — www.flinto.com

Flinto Icon Strike! — www.flinto.com/strike

Webflow — www.webflow.com

Mockuuups — www.mockuuups.com

Red Pen — https://redpen.io

Wireframing

Moqups — www.moqups.com

Wireframe.cc — ww.wireframe.cc

Mockflow — www.mockflow.com

Mockingbird — www.gomockingbird.com

Balsamiq — http://balsamiq.com/products/mockups/

Axure — http://www.axure.com/

Justinmind — http://www.justinmind.com/

UX Pin — http://uxpin.com

Prototyping

Flinto — www.flinto.com

Marvel — https://marvelapp.com

Webflow — https://webflow.com

Red Pen — https://redpen.io

Proto — http://proto.io

Invision — http://www.invisionapp.com

Macaw — http://macaw.co/

Froont — http://froont.com

RWD

Responsive.is — http://responsive.is/typecast.com

Gridpak — www.gridpak.com

Responsive Nav — www.responsive-nav.com

Off Screen Navigation — http://tympanus.net/Development/MultiLevelPushMenu/

Responsive Web Design Test — www.designmodo.com/responsive-test/

Media Queries — www.mediaqueri.es

Foundation by Zurb — www.foundation.zurb.com

Jetstrap — www.jetstrap.com

Webflow — www.webflow.com

Gridset — www.gridsetapp.com

BrowserStack — www.browserstack.com

Sidebar Transitions — http://tympanus.net/Development/SidebarTransitions/

Dimensions (Chrome Extension) — https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/dimensions/hdmihohhdcbejdkidbfijmfehjbnmifk?hl=en

Responsive Grid System — http://responsive.gs/

Colour

0 to 255 — www.0to255.com

Colour Lovers — www.colourlovers.com

Brand Colors — www.brandcolors.net

Adobe Kuler Color Wheel — https://kuler.adobe.com/create/color-wheel/

Color Scheme Designer — www.colorschemedesigner.com

Hex to RGB Converter — http://hex.colorrrs.com

Coleure — http://coleure.com/

Colllor — http://colllor.com/

Palette for Chrome — https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/palette-for-chrome/oolpphfmdmjbojolagcbgdemojhcnlod

CSS

Animate.css — www.daneden.me/animate

CSS3 Animation Cheat Sheat — http://www.justinaguilar.com/animations/index.html

Can I Use? — www.caniuse.com

Animation Fill Code — www.animationfillcode.com

Pure — http://purecss.io/

The Magic of CSS — http://adamschwartz.co/magic-of-css/

HTML 5

HTML5 Please — www.html5please.com

Can I Use? — www.caniuse.com

JavaScript / jQuery

Unheap — http://www.unheap.com

FitText — http://fittextjs.com

Touche.js — http://benhowdle.im/touche/

Cortado.js — http://benhowdle.im/cortado/

FlickFeed — http://benhowdle.im/flickfeed/

Heisenburg.js — http://heisenbergjs.github.io/heisenberg/

Pickadate.js — http://amsul.ca/pickadate.js/

Lettering.js — http://letteringjs.com/

Freetile — http://yconst.com/web/freetile/

Backstretch — http://srobbin.com/jquery-plugins/backstretch/

Hook — http://usehook.com

Echo JS — http://www.echojs.com/

Up to date — http://uptodate.frontendrescue.org/

JS Fiddle — http://jsfiddle.net/

Free Photoshop Files

Fribbble — www.fribbble.com

Premium Pixels — www.premiumpixels.com

Teehan+Lax iOS 7 Gui PSD (iPhone)— www.teehanlax.com/tools/iphone

Teehan+Lax iOS 7 Gui PSD (iPad) — www.teehanlax.com/tools/ipad/

iPhone Mockuuups — www.mockuuups.com

Freebiesbug — http://freebiesbug.com/

Marvel — https://marvelapp.com/resources/

Ui Space — http://uispace.net

DB Freebies — http://dbfreebies.co

365 PSD — http://365psd.com/

Pixel Buddha — http://pixelbuddha.net/

Pixels Daily — http://pixelsdaily.com/

Icons

Other Icons — www.othericons.com

Icon Sweets — www.iconsweets.com

Ico Moon — www.icomoon.io

Flat Icon — http://www.flaticon.com

The Noun Project — http://thenounproject.com

Perfect Icons — http://perfecticons.com/

Image Compression

Tiny Png — www.tinypng.com

JPEGmini — www.jpegmini.com

ImageOptim — www.imageoptim.com

Photoshop Tools

Mac Rabbit Slicy — www.macrabbit.com/slicy/

Renamy — www.renamy.com

Blendme.in — www.blendme.in

Invoicing / Accountancy

Freeagent — www.freeagent.com

Freshbooks — www.freshbooks.com

Xero — http://www.xero.com/

Crunch — http://www.crunch.co.uk

Slimvoice — http://slimvoice.co/

Legal

Andrew Clarke’s Contract Killer — www.stuffandnonsense.co.uk/projects/contract-killer/

Proper App — www.properapp.com

iubenda — www.iubenda.com

Inspiration

Siteinspire — www.siteinspire.com

Land Book — www.land-book.com

Awwwards — www.awwwards.com

The Best Designs — www.thebestdesigns.com

Dribbble — www.dribbble.com

Behance — www.behance.com

Niice — http://niice.co

One Page Love — http://onepagelove.com/

Hosting

Propagated Yet? www.propagatedyet.com

Instant Domain Search — www.instantdomainsearch.com

Domainr — https://domai.nr/

Job Boards

Dribbble Jobs — www.dribbble.com/jobs

Authentic Jobs — www.authenticjobs.com

Onsite — www.onsite.io

Maps

Mapbox — www.mapbox.com

Leaflet — www.leafletjs.com

Online Classes

Treehouse — www.teamtreehouse.com

Lynda — www.lynda.com

Codeacademy —www.codecademy.com

Code School — www.codeschool.com

Udacity — www.udacity.com

Code.org — http://code.org/

WebPlatform — http://www.webplatform.org/

Podcasts

The Freelance Web — www.thefreelanceweb.com

Unfinished Business — www.unfinished.bz

Happy Monday — www.happymondaypodcast.com

Boagworld — www.boagworld.com/show/

Shop Talk Show — www.shoptalkshow.com

The Back to Front Show — www.backtofrontshow.com

The Big Web Show — www.zeldman.com/category/the-big-web-show/

Upfront Podcast — www.upfrontpodcast.com

Iterate — http://www.imore.com/iterate

Communities

Designers Talk — http://www.designerstalk.com/forums/

Quora — https://www.quora.com/

Stack Exchange — http://stackexchange.com/sites

Reddit /Design — http://www.reddit.com/r/Design/

Reddit /Web Design — http://www.reddit.com/r/web_design

Writing

Medium — www.medium.com

Svbtle — https://svbtle.com/

Ghost — https://ghost.org/

WordPress — www.wordpress.com / www.wordpress.org

Squarespace — http://squarespace.com

Speaking

Speaking.io — www.speaking.io

Mark Boulton’s Tips — www.markboulton.co.uk/journal/speakingtips

Public speaking for the (formerly) terrified by Rachel Andrew — www.rachelandrew.co.uk/archives/2012/05/02/public-speaking-for-the-formerly-terrified/

10 Kick ass presentation techniques (Treehouse) — http://blog.teamtreehouse.com/10-kick-ass-presentation-techniques

You’re paying to speak by Remy Sharp — http://remysharp.com/2014/03/07/youre-paying-to-speak/

Payment Solutions / Gateways

Stripe — www.stripe.com

GoCardless — www.gocardless.com

Just Handy

Copy Paste Character — www.copypastecharacter.com

JustDelete.me — www.justdelete.me

What’s my UDID? — www.whatsmyudid.com

Shapecatcher — www.shapecatcher.com

UI Names — http://uinames.com/

UI Faces — http://uifaces.com/

LayerVault — https://layervault.com

PlaceIMG — http://placeimg.com/

lorempixel — http://lorempixel.com/

Facebox — http://facebox.io

Books

Grid Systems in Graphic Design — http://amzn.to/1aNQC8B

HTML & CSS: Design and Build Web Sites — http://amzn.to/1biuvJi

How to be a Graphic Designer, Without Losing Your Soul — http://amzn.to/1eooTjo

A Practical Guide to Designing for the Web — http://www.fivesimplesteps.com/products/a-practical-guide-to-designing-for-the-web

Hardboiled Web Design — https://shop.smashingmagazine.com/hardboiled-web-design.html

Designing for the web (Free) — http://designingfortheweb.co.uk/

Smashing Book #4 — https://shop.smashingmagazine.com/smashing-book-4-new-perspectives-on-web-design.html

The Geometry of Type — http://amzn.to/1ekRiSV

Insites: The Book — http://viewportindustries.com/insites-the-book

Don’t Make Me Think — http://amzn.to/1ekRul6

Above the Fold — http://amzn.to/1cLAIdv

Design is a Job — www.abookapart.com/products/design-is-a-job

Thinking with Type, Second Revised and Expanded Edition: A Critical Guide for Designers, Writers, Editors, and Students — http://amzn.to/1ixVKOc

The Visual Display of Quantitative Information — http://amzn.to/1n8vezb

 

 
by Janeth Kent Date: 10-09-2020 design books resources hits : 17517  
 
Janeth Kent

Janeth Kent

Licenciada en Bellas Artes y programadora por pasión. Cuando tengo un rato retoco fotos, edito vídeos y diseño cosas. El resto del tiempo escribo en MA-NO WEB DESIGN END DEVELOPMENT.

 
 
 

Related Posts

Cross cultural challenges in web design, an overview

The user experience design of a product essentially lies between the intentions of the product and the characteristics of your user. - David Kadavy - The task of building a culturally appropriate…

The easiest way to align items using flexbox

With the release of flexbox in CSS, it has become an essential tool when placing elements next to each other, since, by default, the children of a display: flexare stacked…

How To Add Filter Effects to Images with CSS

To achieve interesting effects on your images, learn about the 'filter' and 'Backdrop-Filter' properties of CSS. CSS filters are a very attractive feature of CSS that allows you to apply certain…

How to write our own Privacy Policy

In this article we will talk about Privacy Policy statements, how you can write one and implement it on your page. Why did it pop up? These days when we browse on…

The concept of Model-View-Controller (MVC) explained

In software engineering, we use design patterns as reusable solutions to a commonly occurring problem, a pattern is like a template for how to solve a problem. Model-View-Controller (MVC)  is a…

The 6 Essentials for Creating a Visually Appealing Web Design

Creating a website might seem like a simple thing. After all, what do you really need besides a good hosting provider and relevant content, right? Well, the reality is quite…

How to Pick the Best Macbook for Graphic Design Work

Graphic designers tend to do the majority of their work using a graphics tablet. However, a computer is still something you need. The idea is that you are bound to…

Parenting, pandemic and UX: Learning from design of experiences

After the quarantine, many of us have had to adapt our work and personal routines to the new remote paradigm. As a mother, I decided to share some things I've learned. We've…

Neumorphism (aka neomorphism) : new trend in UI design

This area, which arises from a basic human need, such as the urge to communicate, is constantly changing thanks to the advances of the technological era. Today, we invite you…

5 ways to improve your user experience

As a brand, UX is incredibly important when it comes to keeping your customers happy and on your site. Afterall, the longer they are on your site, the more likely…

Java Design Pattern: Strategy Pattern

One of the most popular patterns is the Strategy Pattern. It is also one of the easiest patterns. It is a member of the behavioral patterns family, it has the duty…

Layouts with Bootstrap 4: how to create a responsive web 2

Here we are with the second part of the guide: Layouts With Bootstrap 4   Horizontal alignment   To align the columns horizontally we can use justify-content-value classes, which use the justify-content property of…

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services, compile statistical information and analyze your browsing habits. This allows us to personalize the content we offer and to show you advertisements related to your preferences. By clicking "Accept all" you agree to the storage of cookies on your device to improve website navigation, analyse traffic and assist our marketing activities. You can also select "System Cookies Only" to accept only the cookies required for the website to function, or you can select the cookies you wish to activate by clicking on "settings".

Accept All Only sistem cookies Configuration